Keynote Speaker

Roderic I. Pettigrew,
Ph.D., M.D.
Director of the National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering
National Institutes of Health
Roderic I. Pettigrew

Roderic I. Pettigrew, Ph.D., M.D., is the first Director of the National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering at the NIH. Prior to his appointment at the NIH, he was Professor of Radiology, Medicine (Cardiology) at Emory University and Bioengineering at the Georgia Institute of Technology and Director of the Emory Center for MR Research, Emory University School of Medicine, Atlanta, Georgia.

Dr. Pettigrew is known for his pioneering work at Emory University involving four-dimensional imaging of the cardiovascular system using magnetic resonance (MRI). Dr. Pettigrew graduated cum laude from Morehouse College with a B.S. in Physics, where he was a Merrill Scholar; has an M.S. in Nuclear Science and Engineering from Rennselear Polytechnic Institute; and a Ph.D. in Applied Radiation Physics from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, where he was a Whitaker Harvard-MIT Health Sciences Scholar. Subsequently, he received an M.D. from the University of Miami School of Medicine in an accelerated two-year program, did an internship and residency in internal medicine at Emory University and completed a residency in nuclear medicine at the University of California, San Diego. Dr. Pettigrew then spent a year as a clinical research scientist with Picker International, the first manufacturer of MRI equipment. In 1985, he joined Emory as a Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Fellow with an interest in non-invasive cardiac imaging.

Dr. Pettigrew’s awards include membership in Phi Beta Kappa, the Bennie Award (Benjamin E. Mays) for Achievement, and being named the Most Distinguished Alumnus of the University of Miami (1990). In 1989, when the Radiological Society of North America celebrated its 75th Diamond anniversary scientific meeting, it selected Dr. Pettigrew to give the keynote Eugene P. Pendergrass New Horizons Lecture. He has also served as chairman of the Diagnostic Radiology Study Section, Center for Scientific Review, NIH. He is the 2008 recipient of the Herbert Nickens Award of the ABC and the 2011 Distinguished Achievement Award of the Biomedical Engineering Society. He has been elected to membership in both the Institute of Medicine, and the National Academy of Engineering of the US National Academies.